Color Archetypes In Literature?


  • Red—love, sacrifice, hate, evil, anger, violent passion, sin, blood, disorder.
  • Green—birth / death, fertility, luck, hope, jealousy, decay, greed.
  • Blue—sadness, spiritual purity, truth, religious feelings of security.
  • Black—power, doom, death, darkness, mystery, primal wisdom, unconscious evil.

Meer items

List of Frequent Archetypes in Literature | Pen and the Pad

  • Color is a powerful archetype with deep emotional associations. Literature often features the archetypes of light versus darkness, with light suggesting hope, goodness, innocence or intellectual illumination, while darkness represents ignorance, despair, death or evil. Red can indicate blood or violence, but also birth, energy and fire.

What are color archetypes?

The archetypal representations of color are used in literature to communicate a message or underscore a theme. These common symbolic meanings are found primarily in the Western canon. Positive interpretations of the color are found within the wheel; negative interpretations are outside.

What are the 12 archetypes in literature?

Here are the 12 common character archetypes, as well as examples of archetype in famous works of literature and film.

  • The Lover.
  • The Hero.
  • The Magician.
  • The Outlaw.
  • The Explorer.
  • The Sage.
  • The Innocent.
  • The Creator.

What do colors symbolize in literature?

In literature, certain events represent certain things and the colors that show up in the events can symbolize the meanings of those events. Red is often used in gothic literature to symbolize passion, aggression and intensity. Yellow is a joyous, intellectual color.

What is color imagery in literature?

We see color used in symbolism, or when a writer uses one object to represent something outside of its literal sense, in movies and literature. Color symbolism is specifically accomplished by attaching an emotional state or event or even character to a color.

You might be interested:  Question: 11th Grade Literature Book?

What are some symbolic archetypes?

Symbolic Archetypes

  • Light – Hope or renewal.
  • Dark – Despair or ignorance.
  • Water – Birth and life.
  • Haven – Safety.
  • Wilderness – Danger.
  • Fire – Knowledge, rebirth.
  • Ice – Death, ignorance.
  • Black – Evil, mystery.

What is the symbolism of yellow?

The Meanings of Yellow. Yellow is the most luminous of all the colors of the spectrum. It’s the color of happiness, and optimism, of enlightenment and creativity, sunshine and spring. Lurking in the background is the dark side of yellow: cowardice, betrayal, egoism, and madness.

What are the 12 Jungian archetypes?

In the minds of both the brand owner and the public, aligning with a brand archetype makes the brand easier to identify. Twelve archetypes have been proposed for use with branding: Sage, Innocent, Explorer, Ruler, Creator, Caregiver, Magician, Hero, Outlaw, Lover, Jester, and Regular Person.

What are the female archetypes?

Jungian Psychology explains that there are 7 Feminine Archetypes; the Maiden, the Mother, the Huntress, the Wise Woman, the Wild Woman (or Mystic), and the Queen. These may have different names depending on which resource you’re looking at.

What are the 7 character archetypes?

These character types include the hero, mentor, ally, herald, trickster, shapeshifter, guardian, and shadow.

  • Hero Character ArchetypeS.
  • Mentor Character ArchetypeS.
  • AllY Character Archetypes.
  • Herald Character Archetypes.
  • Trickster Character Archetypes.
  • Shapeshifter Character Archetypes.

What is the Colour of innocence?

White represents purity or innocence. While a bride wearing white was often thought to convey the bride’s virginity, blue was once a traditional color worn by brides to symbolize purity. White is bright and can create a sense of space or add highlights.

You might be interested:  FAQ: Elizabethan Age Literature?

What Colour represents shame?

An emotion a character is experiencing can be identified by what colour the character, or whatever they have is or turns in to. A character might turn red when they are angered or embarrassed, yellow when happy, or blue when sad.

What Colour means sadness?

Sad colors

Grey is the quintessential sad color, but dark and muted cool colors like blue, green or neutrals like brown or beige can have a similar effect on feelings and emotions depending on how they’re used.

What is Colour imagery in English?

colour and colour imagery may symbolise feelings and mood, according to cultural convention. Words, sounds and images connote different meanings according to cultural and personal experience. sustained images run as a thread of meaning in a text, guiding interpretation, and indicate thematic elements.

What Colour Symbolises strength?

Red. Red is the color of fire and blood, and symbolizes strong and intense emotions such as war, danger, strength, power, determination, passion, desire, and love.

What is the symbolic color of hope?

Blue signifies the blue skies or the life-giving air and often signifies hope or good health. It is an alternate color for the season of Advent. Purity, virginity, innocence, and birth, are symbolized with this color.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *